2021 Vidhan Sabha election results: West Bengal, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry

The exit polls predictions are proving to be true, as per the initial trends. Image source: Financial Express. Vidhan Sabha election results:

The State Legislative assembly/Vidhan Sabha 2021 elections, in West Bengal, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, and Puducherry, results finally reaching a conclusion. West Bengal:

In West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee led TMC, who had cast a huge lead over BJP, has secured 195 seats and is leading in 21 seats whereas BJP secured 67 seats and leads in 8 seats. Mamata Banerjee leading her TMC to triumph in West Bengal for a third consecutive term. Narendra Modi congratulated Mamata Banerjee on winning assembly polls. Assam:

In Assam, the fight is between BJP-led NDA and Congress-led UPA, and the votes turned out to be in favor of BJP, who seems to have a second term with the party’s alliance. The BJP is set to have a second term with the party’s alliance leading with 77 seats out of 126 seats, while the Congress alliance is leading in 48. Tamil Nadu:

Tamil Nadu, MK Stalin-led DMK, which is governing around 145 seats, is clearly ahead of ruling AIADMK, which is likely to secure 90 seats and will form a government with a simple majority. Kerala:

Kerala, the CPM-led LDF government has surpassed the UDF government. Pinarayi Vijayan, ready to create history by becoming the first government to fight incumbency and keep power in the state. They are projected to win 97 seats in 140 member assembly, whereas Congress-led UPI could only grab 43 seats. The predictions of the exit polls, telecasted in local and national news, stood correct. Puducherry:

Puducherry is a union territory, with 30 seats it has witnessed a battle for power and AINRC led NDA leading in 15 seats and has reached towards the halfway mark. EC guidelines:

The elections were held amid a surge in covid-19 cases, a second wave that has ridden the country to an unprecedented crisis, therefore, the EC following the covid protocols, has banned all the victory processions after the count of votes for assembly elections and clarified not over 2 candidates will accompany the winning candidate to receive the winning certificate.

3 views0 comments