Bihar Assembly Elections 2020

The Election Commission of India has taken Bihar Assembly Elections into Consideration

The first phase of the Bihar Assembly Elections takes place on 28th October 2020. This first phase comprises 71 seats of the Assembly. Amid the Covid-19 pandemic situations, the 1st phase started on Wednesday.

According to the Election Commission of India, a total of 2.14 crore voters have registered for this assembly election in 3-phase, in which, 1.01 crore are labeled women whereas 599 are the third gender.

In the first phase, more than 1,000 voters are on the line. Although this is the first State-Assembly elections taking place amid the Coronavirus spread. The Ec has issued some strict guidelines like the reeling of postal ballots of the facility of those aged above 80. Also, the number of voters at a single booth should be no more than 1000 at a time.

Masks have been made compulsory and proper sanitizing is taking place. The voters are also given gloves for casting their votes and a proper system of disposing of them has been made too.

For the constituencies of 71 seats, RJD has fielded 42 candidates whereas BJP has 29 seats. The number of candidates for JDU is 35 and Congress is 21. 8 CPI-ML, six HAM, and one VIP candidate will be sealed today. Among other parties, there are 43 candidates of RLSP, 42 of LJP, and 27 of BSP.

There are a total of 952 men and 114 women candidates for 71 seats. The maximum number of candidates is from Gaya town i.e. 27 and the least number of candidates are from Katoria in Banka district which is 5.

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar is looking forward to his fourth-term this year with the BJP alliance.

Bihar Assembly elections will be held in three phases on October 28, November 3, and 7, while the counting of votes will take place on November 10.

12 views0 comments