Election Commission announced poll dates for 2021 election

Polling dates have been announced by the Election Commission. Source:- The Indian Express

On Friday, The Election Commission announced the schedule for upcoming Assembly elections in Assam, Kerala, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, and Puducherry.

According to the information, the state of West Bengal will go to polls in eight phases, Assam will see three-phase voting starting March 27. Assembly elections in Tamil Nadu, Kerala, and Puducherry will be held in single phases on April 6. Counting of votes for the four states and one union territory will be done on May 2.

As per the election commission, in West Bengal Polls are to be held for 294 seats. 234 seats in Tamil Nadu, 140 seats in Kerala, 126 seats in Assam, and 30 seats in Puducherry.

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said, "that as many as 18.68 crore electors will cast their votes at 2.7 lakh polling stations in Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Kerala, Assam, and Puducherry."

President’s Rule has been imposed after the V Narayanasamy-led Congress government resigned earlier this week ahead of a vote of confidence.

The election commission is expecting to implement a similar protocol for voting.

5 views0 comments