Historically, nine judges take an oath in a single stroke in the Supreme Court

It was extremely admirable to see nine judges, including three women to take an oath in one go. Never in the history of Supreme Court had nine judges been sworn in at one time. They were administered their oath's of office by CV Ramana on 31 August, Tuesday.

The ceremony was conducted in court complexe's auditorium unlike other times, when it was administered in Chief Justice's court room. Proper covid protocols and social distancing were maintained during the ceremony. This was also the first time when cameras were allowed and the Supreme Court had allowed the live telecast of the ceremony.

All the new nine judges belong to different states. The list includes Justice Abhay Oka (former Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court), Justice Vikram Nath (former Chief Justice of Gujarat High Court), Justice Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari (former Chief Justice of Sikkim and Andhra Pradesh high court), Justice Hima Kohli (former Chief Justice of Telangana High Court), Justice B. V. Nagarathna (former Karnataka High Court judge), CT Ravi Kumar (former Kerala High Court judge), Justice M.M. Sundresh ( former Judge of the Madras High Court) ,Justice Bela M. Trivedi ( former Gujarat High Court Judge) and Justice P.S. Narasimha (senior advocate).

With the addition of these nine judges the strength of the Supreme Court stands at 33, including the Chief Justice, out of a sanctioned strength of 34.

5 views0 comments