Mamata Banerjee claims the Nandigram constituency is not being allowed to cast its ballot

On Thursday, West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee claims to the state’s governor Jagdeep Dhankhar alleging that several voters in the Nandigram constituency are not being allowed to cast their ballot.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said to the reporters, "They did not allow the local people to cast their vote. From morning I am campaigning. Now I am appealing to you, please see."

She also claims, "comes on a day when 30 constituencies in West Bengal from the districts of South 24 Parganas, Bankura, Paschim Medinipur, and Purba Medinipur are voting in the second phase of assembly polls to elect the next state government."

After getting the chief minister’s complaint and request to Dhankhar to look into the matter, the governor posted on Twitter, “Issues flagged @MamataOfficial a while ago on phone has been imparted to the concerned. There is full assurance of the concerned to adherence to the rule of law. Am confident all will act in right spirit and earnestness so that democracy flourishes.”

Mamata Banerjee told that she was there at a polling booth in Nandigram when she phoned the governor. She had also alleged that people were raising slogans at booths and that they are outsiders.

She said, “They came from Bihar and UP, they are being protected by Central Forces."

According to the information, she was referring to loud iterations of BJP's 'Jai Shree Ram' slogans that could be heard as she sat inside the booth.

Trinamool Congress (TMC) agents have alleged that they are not being allowed to enter the polling stations in Nandigram. According to the news agency, Banerjee informed that 63 complaints regarding booth capturing have been sent to the Election Commission (EC).

The Nandigram constituency is witnessing a fierce battle between Mamata Banerjee and BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari, who was once very close to Mamata Banerjee.

Some note that Suvendu Adhikari had earlier pledged that he would quit politics if he does not defeat Banerjee by 50,000 votes.

As per the information, West Bengal goes to the polls in eight phases. The first phase of voting was conducted on March 27. And they will hold the last phase on April 29. The counting of votes would be done on May 2.

3 views0 comments