Opposition Boycotts Lok Sabha Over Centre’s Refusal To Withdraw Farm Bills

The ongoing monsoon session of Parliament has entered its ninth day

On Monday, eight oppositions MPs were suspended from the Rajya Sabha for the rest of the session due to unruly behavior during the protests against two controversial farm bills on Sunday.

The Leader of opposition and Congress Rajya Sabha MP Ghulam Nabi Azad asked for the restoration of the eight suspended MPs who protested against the farm bills.

Harivansh, the deputy chairman of Rajya Sabha met the protesting MPs on Tuesday morning and offered tea which was refused by them. The chairman decided to keep a one-day fast against the misconduct of these MPs.

The opposition today boycotted the Lok Sabha proceedings a few hours after exiting the Rajya Sabha. Earlier in the day, the opposition, Congress Leader Ghulam Nabi Azad warned to boycott the proceedings of Rajya Sabha till three demands were met, one of them included canceling of the suspension of eight members.

Congress was the first to walk out from the house followed by members of the Aam Aadmi Party, Trinamool Congress, and Left parties.

The opposition stated that the members should have been given a chance to clarify and demanded a vote on their suspension, but the Rajya Sabha said the decision was based on government motion.

3 views0 comments