PM Modi will do the honor to co-chair the 17th India-ASEAN Summit

Updated: Nov 12, 2020

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will share the chair of the India-ASEAN summit with Vietnamese PM Nguyen Xuan Phuc virtually on the 12th of November. The meeting will include the representatives of member countries: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar & Cambodia.

The meeting holds immense significance as it is going to take place in the context of Chinese aggression over the controversial South China Sea & in Eastern Ladakh.

Few other ASEAN countries have similar interests in territorial disputes with China.

The prime objective of this meeting will be to discuss the purpose of actions that will be taken to combat the post-pandemic economic crisis & to embolden strategic ties.

From the Indian perspective, the Ministers of External Affairs will assess the partner countries' common issues, the role of India in co-operation with countries in terms of trade-commerce, education, defense, connectivity, etc.

The highlight of the summit is the adoption of the ASEAN-India Plan of Action (2021-2025) which will pave the way for stronger geographical, economic, historical engagements & future progress.

134 views0 comments