Subodh Kumar Jaiswal to be the new CBI Director for next two years.

On Tuesday, IPS Office, Subodh Kumar Sharma has been appointed as the Director of CBI for two years. He is currently working as the Director-General of the Central Industrial Security Force (CISF).

Prime Minister Narendra Modi shortlisted a three-member selection committee on Monday.

Jaiswal is a 1985 batch Indian Police Service (IPS) of Maharashtra Cader and has also served as Maharashtra's director general of police and was also been part of the Intelligence Bureau and the Research and Analysis Wing (RAW).

“The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has, based on the panel recommended by the committee made up as per Section 4A (1) of the Delhi Special Police Establishment Act, 1946, approved the appointment of Subodh Kumar Jaiswal, IPS (Mh-1985) as Director, Central Bureau of Investigation for two years from assumption of charge of the office,” a government notification said.

According to sources, NIA Chief Y C Modi and BSF Chief Asthana were also the top contenders for this post as well.

Their names were dropped out earlier in the day after NV Ramana, the Chief Justice of India cited a Supreme Court guideline on the appointment of police chiefs which says that any officer to be considered should have six months’ tenure left in the service, which led to dropping off two most trusted officials of the government.

The source said that the CJI Ramana was insistent on this point, and he also got support from the Leader of Congress in Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, which made the Prime Minister follow his demand.

Also, for the first time, the rule of six months' tenure was applied for appointing the CBI chief.

4 views0 comments